www.geoffmitchell.com

Balls to the Wall

I’ve become fond of referring to my present workload and the related stress level by using the analogy of playing three concurrent games of tennis on parallel courts. Well today I feel like I just froze in place, overwhelmed and beaten down by the sense of futility of it all, while the sounds of the unreturned volleys echoed across the court surfaces and bounced against the long wall behind me. I just stopped running. It became too much. And although the weekend ahead may provide a moment to breathe between sets, the fact that I’ll have the responsibility of walking about to gather all the shots I let fly by me in a moment of frustrated exhaustion weighs heavy on my mind.

Written by gsm

07/27/2007 at 11:28 pm

Posted in  Journal 

