www.geoffmitchell.com

All That It Takes…. All That It Takes…

There’s no beginning to describe the chaos that has been the past few weeks at work, and last night, finally, I thought I’d wrapped up the final pieces of an effort that had come unravelled the day before. Unravelled, that is, from the wrapping up of the final pieces the night before that. As happened the day before that. And the day before that day. Seeing a pattern? Same as it ever was…. same as it ever was…

So today, I’m sitting here, going through these all too familiar motions yet again, and I’m in a dower mood. I’ve got my ipod on, headphones in, my office door almost shut and a “LMTFA” look on my face. I’m focused.

Or I was, that is, until the drum beat of “Girlfriend is Better” started playing in my ears. Suddenly, my grim face is atop a pair of slightly bobbing shoulders. The body takes the hint, the mind rewinds to the absolute greatest party I ever held (at which the entire “Speaking in Tounges” CD was on non-stop play while the room danced and shuffled about) and suddenly, the day is not so grey. With a little help from the Talking Heads, I’ll get through another long day.

♬ Stop making sense, stop making sense…stop making sense, making sense. ♬

Written by gsm

07/24/2007 at 1:06 pm

Posted in  Journal ,  Music 

