www.geoffmitchell.com

NSFW?

My friend posted something yesterday on his website that struck a chord with thoughts that have been running through my own mind of late. The separation of work and personal life in the age of blogging and personal websites. Anybody I work with can and some have visited my personal website. That’s great in many ways but awkward in others. Some of what I write here is really surface oriented fun and trivial stuff. But some is pretty personal, and opinionated too. Although I don’t have issue with a coworker’s reading my reviews of movies, music or humorous antic-dotes, there’s something about the guy across the table, whom I’m pressing for a commitment to a timeline or deliverable, knowing some of the more emotional details of my life that makes me feel a bit exposed. So I tend to not promote it at the office.

Unlike Jess’s post, however, I’m comfortable enough to say that nothing here might cause the room to fall silent as I enter a room, or for the reader to feel compelled to avoid eye contact the following day when they bumped into me at the water cooler.

Written by gsm

06/29/2007 at 9:46 am

Posted in  Journal 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. be careful you don’t get “dooced”

    Jess

    06/29/2007 at 2:12 pm


Comments are closed.

