www.geoffmitchell.com

A Day Of Apples

with one comment

It’s been a day for Apple events for me. First there was the communications meeting at work today marking the launch of the iPhone. Very exciting stuff. Yummy yummy kool-aid :-)

Then, tonight, while en route to The Great Bear coffee shop in downtown Los Gatos to do some writing, I stumbled across the boarded frontage of a new Apple Store, right next to Andale’s and the Great Bear, both places I frequented heavily when I lived on Wilder Street downtown. How cool is that?


Yes, one might ask, “Dude, you work there. What ever would you find in an Apple Store of interest?” Plenty. There’s always something interesting to be found in the store, and more then that, just the experience of being a fly on the wall is entertaining.

Finally, due to a reference by a friend via SMS on my Treo, I stumbled across a reference to “line sitters” on ifoapplestore.com, and I thought I’d check it out myself. Damned if it’s not true, there’s actually people SELLING iPhones, or their spot in line to get one, on Craigslist. Ultimately, they’ll make a couple of hundred dollars for standing in line. Uh, just standing in line for 24hrs = $8.33/hour. And it’s likely there’s more then 24hrs involved. Clearly these entrepreneurs aren’t math whizzes.

Written by gsm

06/28/2007 at 10:57 pm

Posted in  Technology 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Having never been a professional line-sitter, nor considered hiring one, I do see their creativity and entreprenuial skills at work. They can do the “work” while doing homework, reading or creating websites/blog entries.
    And I’d rather give someone $100 to stand in line for me than give someone $5 just because he has a cardboard sign and a felt pen.

    However, I don’t really like the idea of being able to “buy” a place in line. If getting the product is that important, shouldn’t going through the motions be a priority? There are too many people who make everything a priority rather than really taking stock of what is important and giving it 100% and letting the secondary “priorities” be dealt with later.
    It is significant example of how people “think” they are managing time when, actually, time manages us, rather than us managing time.

    It’s not like Apple will run out of this product, it is strictly a case of people wanting to say they got one on the first day (i.e. “look at me, I’m special”) so they can feel important.

    It’s not even like people who wait in line for Cabbbage Patch Dolls, where there is a deadline of Christmas (though I dislike that as well). Nor is it like a concert where there is a finite number of tickets.

    But as some guy once said “a fool and his money are soon parted.” Which makes me wonder how they got together in the first place.

    MC

    06/29/2007 at 12:27 pm


Leave a Reply

