www.geoffmitchell.com

Slowing Down is the Key to Unlocking ADD

Wednesday morning, after daring to actually carve out the much needed 30min in my morning to get my long overdue haircut, which itself was delayed by a hunt for bearable wearable clothing suited to 90+ degree temperatures, I finally made it into the office in time to resume working on getting a coordinated plan of action around 3 or 4 concurrent projects I have on my plate. Only to, 30min into it, be visited by my manager with the news that the scrambles of the previous week, the same ones that’d sidelined my other project efforts at that time, turned out to not be sufficient, and there’s a need to do it all over again.

Feeling like the dizzy kid that’s just missed his last swing at the Piñata and, removing the blindfold, finds himself dizzy and facing a completely different direction they he’d expected, I squinted my eyes, adjusted to the change, and set out on my scrambling path.

At the end of the day, just before a critical emergency 5.30PM meeting, I started to gather my belongings so I could leave from that meeting and go immediately to my car. I’d promised my wife I’d cover kids duty for her and let her have some down time. But my car keys were nowhere to be found!

I was 4 minutes away from needing to be in the meeting, and the only place I could imagine them being, after scouring every inch and corner of my office, was in the cafe, where I’d been sitting and doing work and last remember having them. Knowing the cafe was already closed and likely reducing in staff by the minute, I opt’d to plead for forgiveness for being late to the meeting and focus on retrieving my keys. 10 minutes, 3 staff members and an impromptu exposure to the back stage workings of the cafe kitchen, I still had no keys. And no more time to waste. I had to get to the meeting.

Once the meeting completed I checked with security and no keys had been turned in. Fortunately for me, having had one or two experiences in this over my many years of driving, I’ve learned to hide a key on the car. And not using the typical easily found ‘magnetic holder in the wheel well’ method, which never survives my driving style. My hiding place requires hand loosening screwed and getting a bit dirty doing so. But it’s there, and it was my ace in the hole.

I got to the vehicle, went through the process of retrieving the key, and as I approached the passenger door in order, a quick glance revealed that it was unlocked. And a moment later, once inside, my keys, having been left in the ignition all day, were retrievable. And although delayed, I’d be able to get home and still give my wife a break of her own.

Did I mention there were left in the ACC position? Yup. You guessed it. The sat in the accessory position all day, slowing draining the battery until it was dead.

While lamenting the frequency of this little issues and occurrences in my days, she said stuff like this happens to everyone, and not just to me. I know that. I know these things happen to other people. I believe they do, once in awhile, but my position is that the seem to happen to me all the time. These are daily occurrences. Things like this happen so fast I don’t have time to write about them before the next one comes along.

Written by gsm

06/15/2007 at 8:08 am

Posted in  Journal 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. LM is right. If you have a lot of things on your plate (and a lot of plates spinning on those bamboo poles) it is hard to focus on the task at hand.

    I’m sure there have been times when Lindsey Buckingham has patted his jeans and wondered “now where did I leave those drumsticks”. Then he realized that he doesn’t play the drums.

    MC

    06/15/2007 at 12:29 pm


Comments are closed.

