www.geoffmitchell.com

Casting a Foreshadow

I went to dig up an old family photo and stumbled across something the elicited a double-take, and tickled a fond and lingering memory of childhood. I recall, as a very young boy, having a huge crush on a little girl from school. I remember being infatuated with her and seeking her out during recesses. You see, while the other little boys were pushing and shoving each other about the sand box, in desperate attempts to assert their dominance and masculinity, thereby fulfilling the inherently instinctual need to prove ones self to each other and to the fairer sex…. I was just going over and talking directly to the girl, avoiding the brew-ha-ha, and instead, swinging on the monkey bars with the object of my affection.

Somehow, I managed to secure her attendance at my birthday party. I distinctly remember being flustered and distracted by her as we were tied leg-to-leg for a three legged race. This photo was taken on that day, at that event. You’ll see her to the far left of the photo, the one and only girl at the party, amongst a sea of other little boys. And that is me, standing directly at her side. She was my “date” for the day, and the first of my life.

What’s amazing is that, not only does that cute little blonde girl share the same name as my cute little blonde wife, but this image bears an strong resemblance of my own son and daughter today. Hence the double take when I found it.

We’ve talked about it. Her family never lived in Woodland Hills, CA, where this image was taken. Still…. one has to marvel at the coincidence.

Written by gsm

05/17/2007 at 4:45 pm

Posted in  Journal 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I appreciate being called a cute little blonde more than you could possibly know! ;-)
    xoxo

    Tulip

    05/19/2007 at 5:07 pm

  2. Ah, the good old days, when you could impress a girl simply by hanging upside down from the monkey bars. Fun picture.

    MC

    05/21/2007 at 11:05 am


Comments are closed.

