www.geoffmitchell.com

Snakes In A Drain!

The master bathroom shower has not been draining too well, and over the last week it’s gotten progressively worse, so when the topic, as well as the waterline, came up in conversation with my wife while I was trying to get into the shower and off to work, it’d reach a point of mandatory attention. For me, at least, there’s always a rotating, shifting, wane and waxing list of things to tackle at home. I’m sure it’s the same for all of us. But some of those things just get pushed to the top, typically when they reach a point of not being able to be delayed any further. Such was the case for the drain. So having recently purchased a 14-foot plumber’s snake in a failed attempt to address the backup of the utility sink in the garage, I figured I’d give it a shot on the shower.

If a cat could grow as large as a cow, and if that cat-cow were to yack up up the biggest hair ball you could possibly imagine, It would not rival the size and density of what I snaked out of that drain this morning. This sucker was seriously larger in mass then a VHS tape. A huge, thick, wet, black, matted, extremely greasy hairball. I would expect carbon dating to place it’s origin at or around the Nixon administration. Hell, come to think of it, from one angle it kinda looked a bit like tricky Dick.

It took the entire length of the snake to reach it, snag and extract it. And once I was done, although the water appears to be draining for the time being, the water I observed still lingering in the drain after it’s removal gives me a pretty strong feeling that I only got part of it.

I’m gonna need a bigger snake.

Written by gsm

05/03/2007 at 8:44 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yuck. The only thing worse than dredging one of those things up with your snake is having to get it back off of the snake. Even with gloves it’s still a nasty bit of work.

    The Cubelodyte

    05/03/2007 at 11:56 am

  2. Uh, yeah, you know I kinda omitted that part, but you’re right, it was pretty disgusting. Sans gloves, even. I don’t wanna talk about it… I feel a hairball comin’ up.

    Geoff Mitchell

    05/03/2007 at 12:45 pm

  3. eewwwwwww

    Jess

    05/03/2007 at 1:21 pm

  4. …and the best part? You’ve only just moved in. That means you had the unparalleled pleasure of running your fingers through a soggy wad of rotting biomass generated over many years by people you don’t even know. God only knows what their sanitary habits were like.

    I’m just sayin’.

    The Cubelodyte

    05/03/2007 at 8:18 pm

  5. … yea, but at least you found this mass in the shower drain. I mean, doesn’t pretty much everything get cleaned in the shower?

    By the way, I’m coming down with a cold so please forgive me for not shaking hands with you.

    MC

    05/04/2007 at 10:00 am


Comments are closed.

