www.geoffmitchell.com

Cop Out of Line

with one comment

Driving into work today, I observed, with great shock, a motorcycle exit north-bound hwy 85 and do something insanely illegal. They got in the left hand turn lane at the off ramp, which leads them back across the freeway overpass. Yet instead of waiting for the light to change and following the legal street rules, this guy turns his cycle on to the sidewalk of the overpass, going against street and pedestrian traffic, and then drives along the sidewalk across the overpass in order to get back onto the south-bound 85 onramp. Fortunately, there was a CHP officer right there at the time. Unfortunately, he was the one driving the motorcycle.

As far as I understand things, the laws of the road apply to all of us, law enforcement included. My added understanding is that they have the ability to break those laws when there’s a need to do so that involves pursuit, rescue or other aspects of their involvement in serving and protecting the public.

This guy didn’t appear to be doing anything other then taking a shortcut. One I’d be busted for, with good reason, in a second.

I could be wrong. Perhaps he saw some safety risk or accident or incident I didn’t, and he was taking these measures in order to get there as quickly as he could. That’s a possibility, yes. But based on what I observed, there was no use of sirens, no scrambled or frantic driving, no radio usage, and once he crossed the overpass, he didn’t appear to be in a hurry to get back onto the freeway.

One of my very best friends is a CHP. And even when I’ve been pulled over for one reason or another, I know, respect and appreciate that they’re there for us when we need them and they’ve, for me, been more often of help then of hindrance. So I don’t have any animosity towards the uniform or the institution. But I do have significant issue with a sense of entitlement that might accompany somebody that might feel that they can bend and break the rules that I can not simply because their role is to enforce those rules. There’s a hypocrisy in that situation. “Do what I say, not what I do“.

If I want hypocrisy I’ll look at my own parenting, thank you very much. ;-)

I thought about calling and complaining. I even visited the CHP website to see if there was a way to do so. They I remembered that, hey, there’s no way in hell any call I make is gonna go anywhere or make any difference whatsoever. I don’t have it on film, I don’t have all the details and know the conditions and reasons, and it’s not like anybody’s gonna stop what they’re doing, find that guy and say “bad, bad chippy“. It’s a futile use of my energy.

Whereas writing about it here… now that is a productive use of time. :-/

Written by gsm

04/18/2007 at 8:43 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This blog made me laugh! I can just see you sitting in your car getting more irritated by the minute, as you continue to think about what the ‘bad bad chippy’ did. I have to admit I’ve seen my share of this ‘bad cop behavior’. Last month a cop whipped past me on the freeway doing about 90 and then when he passed the cluster of cars (I was in.. going 65) he turned off his lights. I followed behind him for awhile. There was no rush or ER for him to get too. I decided as my annoyance grew … what I couldn’t hear was his ‘cop radio’ telling him to get to an ER and just after he passed us (ie: the cluster of traffic) the dispatcher called in and canceled the response. Ahhhh.. then i felt much better… even smiled when I passed him on the off ramp. : – )

    Marissa

    04/19/2007 at 9:34 am


Leave a Reply

