www.geoffmitchell.com

The Great Gig In The Sky

There’s a moderately sized dining room just inside the lobby of Building 4 on the Apple Campus, which is adjacent to the Cafe. Inside it, there’s a grand piano. When I get to work and the underground parking is filled around my building, I’ll park under the Cafe in order to get coffee on my way in, taking it with me on the short walk across campus to my office. This morning, as I ascended the stairs from the parking level, I heard somebody playing the piano. Just as I badged in, they started into a beautiful and melodic version of “The Great Gig In The Sky“. I stopped in mid-step and turned back in order to just take a moment to listen and enjoy. Playing piano is one of those things I regret never learning, and this particular song is one that has always been a favorite. Add to that my underlying sense of sadness over the shootings yesterday and the general sense of melancholy, and this brief moment was somewhat apropos and calming.

Written by gsm

04/17/2007 at 9:05 am

Posted in  Journal 

