www.geoffmitchell.com

Grooving Up Slowly

with 2 comments

I’ve just updated the ‘header’ image on this website. Although I’ve previously stated an intention to use photos I’ve taken myself, I’m bending the rules to allow photos of myself in interesting locations too. Thus, the image above, snapped in the mid-90’s on a trip to London. It required a modest journey on the underground to the St John’s Woods section of London, then a few paces down some side streets, staring at a map, until I stood in front of Abbey Road Studios. It was a pilgrimage of sorts, having been a Beatles fan for many, many years. It was exciting to stand there and to imagine how much musical history took place in that building. In addition to most of the Beatles music, it was also the ‘birthplace’ of Pink Floyd’s “The Dark Side of the Moon“. It’s was a great moment and a memory I’ll never forget.

And of course, as I’m sure is the case for so many others, I had to take a photo walking across the street.

Here’s the full image:

Written by gsm

04/09/2007 at 2:34 pm

Posted in  Journal 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. A classic photo! I remember you said you’d be 28 if you went to Abbey Road.

    Speaking of, who took the photo? I understand Ringo often hangs out there, taking pictures of tourist in exchange for handouts.
    But the framing is pretty good, so could it have been Paul?

    MC

    04/10/2007 at 9:17 am

  2. 28IF = Obscure reference to the liscense plate on the VW in the Abbey Road cover.

    Taken by: Melissa, my girlfriend at the time. She came out to Ireland for Apple work at the same time as I did, so we had time to stop and visit London on the way back. I have one of her walking with m me as well, and it’s pretty cool… I’ll see if I can find it/scan it in too. Oddly I don’t recall who took the one of the both of us…. Perhaps the photographer was Paul. (another clue for you all)

    gsm

    04/10/2007 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

