www.geoffmitchell.com

Nose Bleed

with one comment

Every couple of years I have an altercation with a razor blade, and walk away scarred. It’s typically attributed to being in a rush or not paying enough attention, when a slip of the wrist leaves me with a minor cut or abrasion. No big deal, right? Well Sunday am, while in a flurry to shave and get out the door for an appointment, I knicked, of all things, a nostril. I’d over exended while shaving my upper lip, snagging and removing the tinyest possible little bit of flesh. Miniscule w/be an exageration. And the bloodbath began. Holy cow… what the hell is is with a frickin’ nostril? I don’t have a strong background in anatomy, but my understanding of major arteries does not include one’s nose. Yet it came out heavily, and stopping the bleeding was not an easy task. Without sounding like a total wimp, that sucker stung something awful as well.

Interestingly enough, I did google the topic of the nose and damned if there’s not a good deal of blood there after all:

In humans the nasal cycle is the normal ultradian cycle of each nostril’s blood vessels becoming engorged in swelling, then shrinking. During the course of a day they will switch over approximately every four hours or so. Meaning that only one nostril is used at any one time.

I had to use a small band-aid to help stop the bleeding. I felt like Nicholson after his run in with Polanski in Chinatown.

Written by gsm

03/05/2007 at 8:08 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There was a hilarious episode of Monk where he had a nose bleed and essentially went through the entire episode holding his head up and keeping a bandage on it with one hand.

    Sorry you had to go through this. Ever thought about using an electric? I love my Norelco.

    Jon Fuelleman

    03/05/2007 at 9:20 pm


Leave a Reply

