www.geoffmitchell.com

Inspiration Overload

with 2 comments

It’s 4am and I’m unable to sleep. It’s not from caffeine, any focused or generalize anxiety, worry or regret regarding our recent home purchase, or even my wife’s occasional stirring. It’s due to nothing you’d consider a typical cause of insomnia. It’s from too many ideas, inspired by too many things that are simply possible these days.

Many years back, I’d keep a pad of paper and eventually an audio recorder at my bedside to capture the occasional idea that crept into my mind. It was typically about something I needed to remember to do, a spontaneous creative idea, or to ensure that the details about the disturbing dreams I would have were accurately related to the counselors assigned to monitor my progress following my release and reintegration into normal society. Unfortunately, the half-awake scribbling or cotton mouthed mutterings rarely translated in the light of day. And the dreams were always ones that would just result in more electroshock, so there was no motivation to record or relay those either.

These days, the tool of choice is my Treo, yet the subject matter and inspirations are on a whole different level and of a completely different nature. Yes, there’s still the occasional capturing of an errand to run or a web post to write, but there’s a heavier percentage of effort dedicated to the trivial. the novel and the inconsequential things that flutter into my mind, waking me up or detracting me during my waking hours long enough to capture them on an ever increasing to do list.

Simply because, in the world we live in today, far more things are possible, I find myself wanting and attempting to do them all. Anything. And with that, my mind wakes me with ideas that would have once been so momentary and unconscious that i’d never know they occurred. Now, they all bubble to the surface, I envision all the ways they could be acted on, and then I can’t sleep.

This falls all over the map; from creative, technology, or just finding answers to obscure questions. I now capture fleeting thoughts around music selections for the next kids birthday video, software to story board a short animated story i’ve been carrying around for about 5 years, researching duct repair I know I’ll need to do at the new house, capturing website entry ideas for future development, thoughts on how to automate the posting of ‘now playing’ entries on the sidebar, ways to reconfigure my home network in order to host my own web-server and file sharing environment, and at the most trivial, noting an interest to check wikipedia for the the band “Kajagogo”, because I’ve just always wondered where the hell that name came from in the first place.

Sadly, and frequently, the inspirations typed at 3AM into my Treo keyboard end up being as garbled and unintelligible as the scribbling from 10 years ago, but you know, I’m sure there’s a better way to capture these thoughts and I’ll have to add googling it to my list of things to do.

Written by gsm

03/02/2007 at 3:40 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. no wait – we feed mayonaise to the tuna fish !! Welcome to Blazeland.

    Jess

    03/02/2007 at 8:56 am

  2. I have the same problem. I use Word and also send myself text messages. I need a better collection system. Someone once suggested “Getting Things Done” by David Allen, but I havent been able to implement it fully. I still have 20 pages of random thoughts that I need to cull through but theres too much schoolwork!!

    Frank

    03/03/2007 at 3:56 am


Leave a Reply

