www.geoffmitchell.com

Don’t Stand So Close To Me

leave a comment »

Every once in awhile I encounter a “personal-space-challenged” individual who just doesn’t seem to realize that there’s a big difference between maintaining a reasonable distance in a line, and crossing it. And it creeps me out. I don’t think it’s just me, I think we all have an invisible ‘force shield’ and comfort zone. It’s like that Seinfeld episode with Judge Reinhold as “The close talker”. There’s something so damned uncomfortable about having somebody hover so close to you that you can not only hear their breathing, you can feel it rhythmically rustling the hairs on the back of your neck on each exhale. And so was the case today, as I approached the oatmeal, and a few folks queued up behind me. And it feels like repelling magnets. Oh, and what’s worse then anything is that it was a dude. I rushed through the process of pouring my oatmeal, scalding my hand in doing so, and shuffled quickly away to the register, only to have the same goon right back behind me again. Argh. So I did what any reasonable, rational individual would do. I ripped one. Ok, no, not really, but I almost wish I had. What i did was to let the guy ahead of me proceed forward while not moving fwd myself, but turning sideways a bit instead, enough to make my briefcase swing behind me and establish a ‘permitter’ of sorts. It worked, but it would have been better if I’d gone with my first instinct.

Written by gsm

01/25/2007 at 9:22 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

Leave a Reply

