www.geoffmitchell.com

Postage DOH

I tried sending a couple of DVD-R’s to my brother/sister in law this week. I came home tonight to find they were returned for postage doh due. 49 cents. Yes, $0.49. I have to wonder what the operational costs of returning it were. It has to be well over 49 cents. Just the fact that somebody had to scribble the balance due with a pencil, let alone have it sorted and returned, had to have a cost. During the Confoti days, exception handling always had an operational impact. Anything that stalled or deviated from the start – finish process thew a monkey wrench into the works, regardless of how well planned for/anticipated it was.

Manual intervention costs of any nature must certainly start at well over half-a-buck. I guess it’s to be expected from a bureaucratic, government based operation. Just one more reason to dress up as indians and throw tea in the harbor, if you ask me.

Written by gsm

01/03/2007 at 7:07 pm

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

