www.geoffmitchell.com

An Unwanted Photo in My Wallet

with one comment

I put a photo of my daughter into my wallet this week, and it’s probably one of the more upsetting things I’ve had to do as a parent. I carry photos of the kids on my Treo, which is far more convenient, and I also carry a very thin wallet and have for many years. Just like my keychain, which has only two keys on it, my wallet only has the absolute necessities and not a bunch of fluff and extra crap.

Adding her photo to my wallet, and it’s subsequent impact to it’s bulk, is not the upsetting thing. Nor is the photo, which I think, naturally, is beautiful. But the fact that I even need to do so, and the details on the card upon which her photo rests, are what make me cringe, and almost retch, at it’s mere existence. The photo is on a ‘missing kids’ emergency card, something I should carry in the event she were to disappear.

When my wife handed me the card, I first saw her photo and started to smile, thinking it was some school related ‘I love my Daddy’ thing, but in the next instance I saw the missing kids information and instructions, and my stomach turned.

As it must be for any parent, just the thought, just the idea, that my son or daughter would be at risk for abuse or worse, is beyond comprehension to me. What the hell has become of our society that such occurrences are common place enough to warrant such steps?

<sigh>

I’ll try and keep a balance here, as stat’s show a decrease in abductions and more awareness might be a strong reason. ANd I’ll migrate the info onto my Treo to thin out the wallet. Also, in accordance with the appropriate practices, i’ll make an more concerted effort to ensure we have all the necessary measures in place to protect them and ensure they know or carry essential ‘if lost, please return’ related details on them at all times. But that I even have to concern myself with an intentional abduction is incredibly disturbing. As are the things I’d do to anybody I got my hands on that tried to harm them… let’s just say that the ‘curb’ scene in the opening of “American History X” will be of inspiration.

BTW: in the event you care to become involved in aiding with missing kids, you can opt in to receive Wireless AMBER Alerts as text messages on your cell phone. This free public service is offered in partnership by The Wireless Foundation, the membership of CTIA-The Wireless Association® and the U.S. Department of Justice to deliver AMBER Alerts. Sign up now at www.wirelessamberalerts.org or through a participating wireless carrier.

Written by gsm

12/29/2006 at 8:08 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I find that the best way to think about things like this is by looking at being on the far side of the possible events, looking back. 1. Nothing happens. Result: wasted card. 2. Something happens: Result: Very Useful Preparation shaved hours off information dissemination.

    I’m an Eagle Scout. Be Prepared isn’t just a cute motto – it’s a way of thinking about things going bad, but still working to make things good.
    -Jon

    Jon Fuelleman

    12/29/2006 at 10:40 pm


Leave a Reply

