www.geoffmitchell.com

Adieu et Merci

As Thanksgiving approached this year, my wife called me at work and said that her mother wanted to stay with us for about a week following the holiday. It was without hesitation that I said yes. Her visits are always good ones, with each one better then the last. It seemed that, since the birth of our twins, she and I grew closer and closer. We crossed the line of ‘in-law’ and I truly felt like one of her own children. 3 months after their birth, when she’d spent every Monday through Friday at our house helping out, my wife and I were discussing some way to thank her, and our immediate idea was to append her name to that of our daughter’s, which we did, much to her and our delight.

When she was preparing to leave after this visit last week, I looked at her and felt a great deal of gratitude for the mother in law she is, and the grandmother as well. I resisted the usual compliment/joke interchange, and simply looked at her, paused, and said with all sincerity, that her presence was always a joy, that I and the kids loved her visits, and that she was welcome at any time.

She passed away Monday from a massive heart attack. The shock is still setting in, as I’ve been consumed with watching the kids while my wife is with her family, and I’ve not had a great deal of time to absorb it all. There’s a great deal of thoughts and emotions through all of this that I fully intend to write about when the dust settles, along with the reality of this very sad occurrence.

A brief observation was relayed to me this week. The answer to the question ‘why do people have to die’ is that without death, and the uncertainty of it’s timing, we’d likely not make the most of each day, and not treasure the value of somebody’s presence.

I did hers, and it will most certainly be missed, but never forgotten.

Written by gsm

12/20/2006 at 12:49 pm

Posted in  Journal 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Geoff, my thoughts are with you and your family, and I’m very sorry to hear of your loss. Your mother-in-law sounds like a remarkable woman.

    Stephen Mack

    12/23/2006 at 10:11 pm

  2. Uncle Geoff, I wanted to thank you for being such a great person to my gramma! I know she loved you and her grand babies!! Love you, hope to see you soon… :) Love, GENA

    Gena DiPrinzio

    01/09/2007 at 5:26 pm


Comments are closed.

