www.geoffmitchell.com

Glasses To Read the Fine Print on my Vision Plan

The eyestrain related headaches, and the sore neck muscles from arching my head back to be able to read small print, were enough to prompt an eye dr visit, and it turns out that my prescription has changed and it’s time for new glasses.

I love my optometrist, Janis Gong, and I recommend her to everybody. BUT it seems that every ‘private practice’ marks their glasses prices up well outside of reasonable. Insurance only covers $120 towards the cost of frames, and frames at Costco or Site For Sore Eyes run between $50-$100, so I assumed I’d do better to find a pair elsewhere, and avoid the $150+ I’d end up paying out of pocket when all was said and done.

Well, once again, insurance companies have the upper hand, and whatever collaborate arrangements they have work to the benefit of themselves and those that ‘partner up’ with them.

It turns out that pretty much any where i go outside of a private practice is considered ‘out of network’, and, get this, they’ll only pay $40 towards the frames and only $20 towards the lenses. So by the time I’m done going elsewhere to save a few bucks, it still ends up costing me about the same.

I really despise that my needs for glasses requires such restrictions, and worse, the feeling that the system is designed to pretty much force me through choices not necessarily in my best interest, but in theirs.

Written by gsm

11/13/2006 at 8:08 am

Posted in  Miscellaneous 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …but they have to inlfate the prices so they can pay the lobbyists to write the laws that allow them to do this. It’s the circle of life.

    MC

    11/13/2006 at 12:15 pm


Comments are closed.

